“It’s Coming Out Like Hot Lava!” – A Review of ‘Bridesmaids’

***POTENTIAL SPOILER ALERT***

I really hate when people tell me that a movie is hilarious. I hate being told ‘Oh man, you have to see this!’, or ‘Holy shit, this movie was the funniest movie I’ve ever seen!’. It annoys the piss out of me, because this usually makes me want to not see it for two reasons. One, I hate prioritizing movies. Secondly it’s something I call Juno Syndrome. Juno Syndrome is when someone tells you how amazing (specifically how hilarious) a movie is, and you’re expectations soar, only to be crushed upon finally seeing the given film. Now don’t get me wrong, I loved Juno and I think it’s a great film, but after hearing for months how hilarious and funny it was, I was vastly disappointed at the time to find it wasn’t the comedy I was hoping to see. The only thing I hate more than Juno Syndrome is when the people that tell me how great a movie is are completely right.

I will say this and I stand by it; Bridesmaids holds up, and now resides on my list of favorite comedies of the past few years (right up there with Forgetting Sarah Marshall).

Do not be fooled by the trailers and things you hear from other people, this movie follows a similar form as Knocked Up; a perfect balance of comedy and drama.

Bridesmaids follows Annie’s (Kristen Wiig) attempt at being her best friend Lillian’s(Maya Rudolph) Maid of Honor. Upon meeting the rest of the bridesmaids, Annie begins to but heads with Helen (Rose Byrne), Lillian’s new friend, about how things should be done. Feeling replaced, things begin to get heated between the two and things eventually blow up. On top of dealing with Lillian’s wedding, Annie’s life is falling apart at the seams.  I really don’t want to give anything else about the story away, only because I strongly advise you see this movie.

The story of the movie was really fantastic. The title of the movie is incredibly misleading though; Lillian’s wedding isn’t the main focus of the story. The primary focus is Annie and how her life is caving in around her. We see her failed relationships, her failed attempt at her life’s calling, and her failed attempt at existing happily. Annie is a baker at heart, and even had her own bakery. But it financially failed, and Annie went completely broke. Living with two british freaks, she struggles to pay rent, let alone all the costs of being a Maid of Honor. On top of this, she struggles to have a proper relationship with Officer Nathan Rhodes (Chris O’Dowd), who desperately tried to bring her back to her feet. Overall this movie is about Annie hitting rock bottom, and hitting it hard.  Annie’s degradation really allows for a great make you feel good movie.

It was almost surreal seeing Kristen Wiig in a role that wasn’t one of her many ludicrous characters of SNL. It was wildly refreshing to see her moderately normal and incredibly relatable. Ultimately Annie is just a girl who can’t seem to get anything right, and her fall to rock bottom and her kick in the ass back up allow for a character who you really become connected with. But the two best characters were hands down Megan (Melissa McCarthy) and Nathan. Megan was by far one of the funniest characters I’ve seen in a movie recently, and Melissa McCarthy was spot on. And maybe I’m a bit ‘IT Crowd Prejudice’, but I love Chris O’Dowd and he did a fantastic job in this movie. One of the things that made this movie for me was Annie and Nathan’s relationship. I loved the chemistry between the characters/actors.

Honestly, there isn’t much I can think didn’t work in this movie and I’m keeping this relativly short for this reason.

All you really need to know is that if you’re looking for a comedy that is actually funny and/or a movie that’s going to leave you smiling with a feel good ending, see this movie.

This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “It’s Coming Out Like Hot Lava!” – A Review of ‘Bridesmaids’

  1. Alice says:

    As a maid of honor who went through something similar to what Annie went through with Helen (still haven’t forgiven the bitch, though), I found this hit close to home…and would take Megan as my best friend in a New York minute! Loved this movie.

Leave a Reply

